ByManny Fonseca, writer at
Author, Screenwriter and Podcaster. Admitted Detroit Lion's Fan. Find me on Twitter: @mannyfonseca
Manny Fonseca

Due to an injury suffered by Vitaly Bigdash, the lineup of May's ONE Championship 42 is changing.

The main event will now feature Angela Lee and Mei Yamaguchi which was the original co-headliner. With Bigdash out, the women move up to main event as they battle to be the first ONE Championship women's atomweight titleholder.

Lee is a 19-year-old phenom that has dominated in her first five fights, winning each by submission. All five wins have taken place under the ONE Championship banner.

Her opponent, Mei Yamaguchi is the former Deep Jewels champion, and is currently on a three-fight winning streak.

Lee and Yamaguchi will share the top slot with Roger Gracie and Michal Pasternak as they fight for the light heavyweight title. Gracie currently holds a 7-2 record in professional MMA, while Pasternak is 11-0. This will be the inaugural light heavyweight title for ONE Championship.

The match-up will be Gracie's first fight in almost 18 months. Considered by many to be one of the finest Jiu-Jitsu practitioners to ever transition to MMA, he went 4-1 for Strikeforce, before facing Tim Kennedy at UFC 162. He ultimately lost that fight by decision.

His ONE Championship debut took place back in December 2014 at ONE Championship 23, where he squared off against UFC vet James McSweeney and won via TKO. Since then, the fighter has been relatively quiet in the MMA scene.

Pasternak has been equally as quiet. The undefeated light heavyweight contender made his ONE Championship debut at ONE Championship 24 in December 2014. He beat Rafael Silva to extend his unbeaten streak to 11. Since then, he too, hasn't fought.

There will also be another change to the lineup of ONE Championship 42. Sylvain Potard is no longer fighting Tatsuya Mizuno. Instead, Mohamed Ali will step up for the light heavyweight bout.

Finally, a new catchweight bout was added between Brad Robinson and Agilan Thani. The two will fight at 194 pounds.

ONE Championship 42 will take place at the Singapore Indoor Stadium on May 6. It will be streamed online through the ONE Championship website.

The full lineup is below:

  • Angela Lee vs. Mei Yamaguchi (inaugural women’s atomweight title)
  • Roger Gracie vs. Michal Pasternak (inaugural light heavyweight title)
  • Kotetsu Boku vs. Narantungalag Jadambaa
  • Cary Bullos vs. Christian Lee
  • Mohamed Ali vs. Tatsuya Mizuno
  • Ching Hsiung Chang vs. Amir Khan
  • Benedict Ang vs. Jimmy Yabo
  • Saygid Guseyn Arslanaliev vs. Ma Jia Wen
  • Brad Robinson vs. Agilan Thani – 194-pound catchweight bout



Latest from our Creators